Dun dun. Dun dun. Dun dun dun dun dun dun…JAWS ARE BACK!!

If you’ve followed our ramblings on this site since its humble beginnings back in 2012 then you’ll know that we’ve always been a fan of the Birmingham based band, Jaws. A band who incidentally started the same sort of time as we started the website! What a year 2012 was for music and music journalism alike! Jaws were a breath of fresh air with clear Joy Division influences emanating through song after song. Before the release of their debut album, Be Slowly, I chatted to lead singer Connor Schofield and my opinion on the band being down to earth and in this for the music itself and enjoyment of performing with your friends were confirmed. (Read that interview here if you missed it the first time round!)


After numerous single releases and the aforementioned debut album, new music subsided as expected but Jaws are now back with a brand new single, Right in Front Of Me. The song comes from their second album, Simplicity. So, with the new single release, am I still on board this musical journey with the band? Read on to find out!!

The track starts like an A-Ha classic with a modern spin on it but it works perfectly launching in to some slid guitar riffs we’d expect from the band who really are a talented bunch of musicians at the core of it all. The lyrics suggest a newfound maturity in their writing style and their outlook on the world around them or…”right in front of them” if you will. This track is the biggest example of their love of grunge whilst putting their own spin on it which softens it in to this easy listening, confident and fresh approach to making music.

I’m still very much on board with the band’s journey and can’t wait to hear the album in full. I’m also going to try to have another interview with Connor in the near future to see what’s changed in the four years since our first interview. Watch this space!

Words by Robert Smith(@robertmsmith)

Simplicity is out 4th November.

1. Just a Boy
2. What We Haven’t Got Yet
3. Right in Front of Me
4. 17
5. Cast
6. Interlude
7. On the Sunshine
8. Work it Out
9. In the Morning
10. A Brief Escape from Life
11. The Invisible Sleep




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: