Series 3 of Black Mirror has been phenomenal. With all six episodes airing straight away on Netflix, many people have binge watched the series whilst feeling a variety of emotions. Episode 4, San Junipero included hit after hit of well-loved songs and now, Charlie Brooker has shared an accompanying 42-song playlist fort he episode.

According to Brooker, he says of the playlist includes “tracks from the episode”, “tracks which didn’t make it in (for rights/other reasons)” and “tracks which inspired elements of the story”.

The playlist includes ’80s classics by The Smiths, Pixies, Depeche Mode and Public Enemy. Hits by T’Pau, Kim Wilde, The Bangles and Whitney Houston.

Explaining why the episode is largely set in 1987, Brooker told Vogue:

“There’s huge nostalgia for me. All the music I said I hated, I secretly loved all of it; T’Pau and all of that. It was a great way for me to indulge in all those guilty pleasures. To go back and revisit all of that music people claimed to hate in 1987.”

Check out the playlist below and if you haven’t yet binged the series, do it now!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: